Upper School Students Honored During Academic Awards Ceremony

Upper School students were honored for their academic achievements during the annual Upper School Awards Ceremony on May 20 at 8:45 a.m. in Benjamin Hall.

Head of Upper School Fletcher Carr welcomed parents, family and friends to the ceremony, praising the Benjamin academicians for their many successes this school year.

Mrs. Judy Pierman began the ceremony by presenting the American Association of University Women award to Kiran Houri. Assistant Head for Academics Ken Didsbury then presented the Furman University Scholars Award to Leslie Berg and Ellie Blain, followed by the Wofford College Scholars award to Heather Sley, Rensselaer Medal Program to Kassandra Jutis and University of Rochester award to Justin Stohlman.

Carr then took to the podium to present College Book Awards to the following students:

Brandeis University - Caroline Moody
Brown University - Tatiana Ziff
Harvard University - Nicolas Lama
Johns Hopkins University - James Richardson
Kenyon College - Kiersten Malmberg
Miami University of Ohio - Dean Silvers
Sewanee University for Excellence In Writing - Christian Baldari
Union College (presented by Ryan Smith ‘93) - Nicholas Amato
University of Virginia Jefferson Book Award (presented by Ms. Jodi Chu) - Vincent Amato
Wellesley College - Catherine Dunkin
Williams College - Ashley Cousin
Yale University (presented by Mr.David Click, P ‘98, ‘01, and Mrs. Lani Click, P ‘98, ‘01)- Emily Horgen

Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors were then recognized for Department Awards in English, Social Studies, World Languages, Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Mathematics and Science.

The 12 values award was then presented in recognition of up to four students in each class who best reflect the 12 Benjamin Values in their daily and school lives. Award recipients were: Casey Crawford, Grace Kearns, Ella Pierman, Emeline Smith, Briley Crisafi, Alex Kahn, Holden Neer, Nichaela Williams, Vinny Amato, Christian Baldari, Dean Silvers and Tatiana Ziff.

Carr concluded the program by presenting the Nulli Secundus Prize to the student who best exemplified all-around scholarship, character, school spirit, broad and impactful participation in school activities and service to community. Kiley Malmberg was the 9th grade recipient, Alex Michelon the 10th grade recipient and Emily Horgen the 11th grade recipient.

A premier PK3 - Grade 12 independent, coeducational day school with campuses in North Palm Beach and Palm Beach Gardens. Since 1960, The Benjamin School has provided a challenging college preparatory education to a diverse student body in a structured, nurturing community environment.
After hours emergency contact:
Leslie Downs/Chief Operating Officer
Ph:  561.657.0075 or 561.747.0585